Jun 21, 2024

ProTarget is awarded the “Exceptional Young Scientist Abstract” award

We are pleased to announce that our colleague, Tina Kringelbach, M.Sc., PhD, project manager, has been awarded the “Exceptional Young Scientist Abstract” award at the Danish Cancer Research Days, 2024. On behalf of the entire team behind ProTarget, Tina will present the project and early results in the session “current Danish cancer research in the spotlight”.

The conference is hosted by the Danish Comprehensive Cancer Center (DCCC) and the Danish Multidisciplinary Cancer Groups ( and will take place in Odense on August 29-30, 2024. In the session “current Danish cancer research in the spotlight”, seven young researchers will receive the ‘Exceptional Young Scientist Abstract’ award. The award is a recognition for excellent research in the wide-ranging context of the Danish Cancer Research Days. An abstract must include all parameters that apply to the broad and national cancer area, as well as on the academically specific ones. The session ‘Current Danish cancer research in the spotlight’ will thus give the audience an insight into the diverse research work, that younger researchers in Denmark are working on right now, and which will benefit Danish cancer patients in the coming years.

ProTarget is an investigator-initiated clinical trial founded on a hypothesis that by understanding the specific mutations and genomic changes in the patients’ cancer, we can better adapt and target the treatment and thus potentially improve the patients’ survival and quality of life. The purpose of the project is therefore to investigate the efficacy and safety of targeted, EMA-approved drugs when they are used outside the approved indication based on genomic profiling.
Congratulations to Tina and all our colleagues in ProTarget, who put an effort in this project every day. Thanks to all the patients and their care givers for participating in the trial. We look forward to hearing the presentation at Danish Cancer Research Days!

Read about the the award and the session